top of page


The Safer Racer Tour, created in 2007, is a non-profit organization that was designed to help reach out to the auto racers many feel are most at risk; the numerous short track drivers around the country.

Founder Randy LaJoie has been an activist in much of the safety R&D that NASCAR has conducted over recent years and would like to see these innovations transcend beyond the Top 3 NASCAR series. Made possible by “tour sponsors”, LaJoie has created a mobile interactive unit to short tracks across America to help bring safety innovations to all levels of racing.

“I’d say 99.7% of short track drivers don’t pay enough attention to safety. Honestly, I didn’t pay as much attention to safety as I should have until we lost Dale Earnhardt. It’s too bad it took his passing, as well as five or six others in the top NASCAR levels, but we now realize we don’t want any more injuries or deaths in racecars."

    – Randy LaJoie


Randy LaJoie is determined to reach local racers all over the country. Since starting the program, he has been crisscrossing the country, as well as a visit to Canada, in a passionate effort to get the safety information and product innovations out to the racers most at risk.


Tracks Randy LaJoie Has Held Programs


Green Valley Speedway

Talladega Short Track



Havasu 95 Speedway



Batesville Motor Speedway



Bakersfield Speedway

Irwindale Speedway

Sonoma Raceway



Stafford Motor Speedway

Thompson Speedway

New London Waterford Speedbowl



Bubba Raceway Park

Five Flags Speedway

New Smyrna Speedway

Volusia Speedway

Orlando Speedworld



Boyd’s Speedway

Dixie Speedway

Gresham Motorsports Park

Lanier Raceplex

Road Atlanta

Rome International Speedway

Screven Speedway

Swainsboro Raceway



Belle-Clair Speedway

Fairbury American Legion Speedway

Farmer City Raceway

Kankakee Speedway

LaSalle Speedway

Lincoln Speedway

Macon Speedway

Peoria Speedway

Quincy Raceways

Route 66 Raceway

Spoon River Speedway

Sycamore Speedway

Tri-City Speedway

Wayne County Speedway


Gas City Speedway

Kokomo Speedway

Lawrenceburg Speedway

Lincoln Park Speedway

Lucas Oil Raceway

Montpelier Motor Speedway

Plymouth Motor Speedway

Shadyhill Speedway

Tri State Speedway

Brownstown Speedway

Salem Speedway


Boone Speedway

Buena Vista Raceway

Hamilton County Speedway

Hancock County Speedway

Knoxville Raceway

Marshalltown Speedway

Shelby County Speedway

West Liberty Raceway

Southern Iowa Speedway



Dodge City Raceway Park

Humboldt Speedway

Lakeside Speedway

RPM Speedway

Salina Speedway

Thomas County Speedway

Decatur County Speedway



Florence Speedway

Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway

Paducah International Raceway

201 Speedway



Beech Ridge Motor Speedway

Oxford Plains Speedway

Spud Speedway

Wiscasset Speedway



Hagerstown Speedway


Seekonk Speedway



Berlin Raceway

Butler Motor Speedway

Owosso Speedway


Deer Creek Speedway

Norman County Raceway

Ogilvie Raceway



Whynot Motorsports Park



Butler Motor Speedway

I-55 Raceway

Lucas Oil Speedway

Missouri State Fairground

Legit Speedway Park (West Plains)



Eagle Raceway

I-80 Speedway


The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

New Hampshire:

Hudson Speedway

Lee USA Speedway

Monadnock Speedway

Star Speedway


New Jersey:

Atlantic City Speedway

Wall Stadium Speedway


New York:

Accord Speedway

Bethel Motor Speedway

Brewerton Speedway

Orange County Fair Speedway

Ransomville Speedway

The Skyline Speedway

Stateline Speedway

Weedsport Speedway

New York State Fairgrounds


North Carolina:

Ace Speedway

Bowman Gray Stadium

Caraway Speedway

Carolina Speedway

Charlotte Motor Speedway

The Dirt Track

Concord Speedway

East Lincoln Motor Speedway

Friendship Motor Speedway

Hickory Motor Speedway

Southern National Motorsports Park

Tri-County Motor Speedway

311 Speedway

North Dakota:

Dacotah Speedway

Nodak Speedway

Southwest Speedway

Williston Basin Speedway



Atomic Speedway

Attica Raceway Park

Eldora Speedway

Limaland Motorsports Park

Midvale Speedway Racing

Muskingum County Speedway

Oakshade Raceway

Sharon Speedway

The Skyline Speedway

Waynesfield Raceway Park

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex



Lawton Speedway

Port City Raceway

Tulsa Raceway Park

Creek County Speedway


UMI Motorsports Park (formerly CNB Bank Raceway Park)

Eriez Speedway

Linda's Speedway (Jonestown)

Evergreen Speedway

Lake Erie Speedway

Lernerville Speedway

Pittsburgh's Pa Motor Speedway

South Carolina:

Carolina Motorsports Park

Cherokee Speedway

I-77 Speedway

Lancaster Motor Speedway

Myrtle Beach Speedway


South Dakota:

Park Jefferson Speedway Inc

The New Raceway Park

Brown County Speedway



411 Motor Speedway

Bristol Motor Speedway

Clarksville Speedway

Clayhill Speedway

Crossville Speedway

Duck River Raceway

Kingsport Speedway

Smoky Mountain Speedway

Tazewell Speedway

Volunteer Speedway

Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville



Devil's Bowl Speedway

Texas Motor Speedway



Langley Speedway

Lonesome Pine Raceway

Motor Mile Speedway

South Boston Speedway

Southside Speedway

Virginia Motor Speedway

Wythe Raceway


West Virginia:

Beckley Motorsports Park

I 77 Raceway Park

West Virginia Motor Speedway



Beaver Dam Raceway

Angell Park Speedway

Cedar Lake Speedway

La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway

Luxemburg Speedway

Shawano Speedway

Slinger Speedway

Wisconsin International Raceway

How You Can Benefit

You can make a difference at your local track. Utilize the personal appearance and promotional services of a 2-Time NASCAR Busch Series champion to drive ticket sales, while providing an opportunity for LaJoie to help make Safer Racers out of your Local Racers!

The Program

You can make a difference at your local track. Utilize the personal appearance and promotional services of a 2-Time NASCAR Busch Series champion to drive ticket sales, while providing an opportunity for LaJoie to help make Safer Racers out of your Local Racers!

How You Can Support Safer Racer

A quick, easy and affordable way to help support the auto racing driver safety mission of The Safer Racer Tour™ is to give a financial gift. Donations of $1000, $500, $250 are especially appreciated but we gladly welcome donations in any amount. Every dollar helps! In appreciation of your donation of $15 or more, we will send you our inaugural ”Safer Racer Lapel Pin”.

Safer Racer Tour (501)C3 non-profit entity organized to educate and promote safety to all racers so that “fun” racing does not effect their quality of life. From parents that don’t have any experience in racing to veterans of racing that survive on racing in their blood.
Safer Racer Tour aspires to provide information on proper installation of all safety devices, including but not limited to, seats, seat belts, nets, head and neck restraints and padding.

The Board of Directors of The Safer Racer Organization allrealize that racing is a dangerous sport – sometimes deadly.
With the boards knowledge of safety innovations from the “been there done that” approach to the background of Dr John Melvin, a research engineer who has consulted with companies such as NASCAR, IRL and FIA on the protection of occupants in vehicle crashes and impact injuries.

We will encourage initiatives and provide a service to clearly demonstrate proper containment in an environment that uses a helmet and seat belts which will produce positive tangible results.

bottom of page